A Tiny Art Dump – June 27

I have been in a drawing slump recently. I’m in between the point where I thought I was good, then realised a serious error in all my wolf drawings and am still trying to get better. As a result, most of my drawings have been small sketches here and there.

I don’t even think this counts as an art dump. Oh well.

6-13-17 thomas0001

A couple of Disney doodles. I liked the Danny (Great Dane on top from 101 Dalmatians) except that his legs were too short. So I abandoned him. Tramp is not bad, but there’s something up with his mouth and the rat’s claws. And the Bambi is hands-down horrible.

6-13-17 wolves1.jpg

I sketched some more wolves, trying to get angles just right. So far all my front views have been awful. But the wolf in the middle wasn’t bad, so I did a transfer onto another sheet of paper.

6-13-17 wolves2

I like everything about it except that:

  1. his colouring needs to be more blended
  2. his back right leg is too floppy.

You’ll see what I mean if you look at the original sketch.

lion_6-27-17.jpg

(The grey box contains a bit of P.I. so I covered it up.)

This, on the other hand, wasn’t bad, and it’s nice to have a bit of a break from the usual horses and wolves. I’m making a photocopy of it for my art binder and giving the original to my dad to hang up at work. I love this!

With tonight’s lion, I may be getting out of my drawing ditch.

Any tips?

{Tess}

(PS: Who else is psyched for Camp Nanowrimo? I may be making a cabin for blogging friends – comment JULYNOWRIMO if you think this is a good idea.)

3 thoughts on “A Tiny Art Dump – June 27

  1. Sari Briel June 29, 2017 / 7:14 pm

    Aww, sorry to hear that you’re in a drawing slump. For what it’s worth, I think I’ll always like your drawings. 😉 I love the lion; he just looks so majestic.
    I’m doing camp NaNo in July! JULYNANOWRIMO all the way. If you ever do end up making a cabin and have extra room think of me! (my username is “Mintywriter” on there)

    Like

Join in on the conversation!

