I Touched A Real Human Brain

Yes, I did touch a real, preserved-in-formaldehyde human brain. I also touched a heart and a liver, which were also human and preserved in formaldehyde.

Yes, it was creepy.

No, I did not visit any black-market organ donation joints in creepy alleys.

Today, I went to the  Sci-Port, in Shreveport, LA, courtesy of my friend, Cyto. Now, I had been before today and witnessed all the cool stuff they have there, one of the attractions being an excellent model of the Solar System. Nothing makes you awe at the works of the Creator like seeing your tennis-ball sized Earth next to the thirty-four foot wide Sun. I powered light bulbs and hair dryers with an exercise bike, stood in an old steamboat, and discovered that I have the extremely rare trait of bent little fingers.

But by far, besides petting the milk snake that was out, witnessing the adorable juvenile alligators, and experimenting with pulleys, the coolest thing was the brain.

Of course, the credit of my experience goes to the guy who brought it out of its bucket and let me touch it. That has to be one of the coolest things I have ever done.

The other really, really neat thing that I have done happened yesterday. Whenever I come up to Shreveport, my siblings and I always make sure to visit Cyto’s neighbour, a certain Mrs. Ann Horn. She has told us all kinds of things in past, and showed us several as well. Once she told us how when she was going to college in Princeton, New Jersey in the 1930s, the newest H. G. Wells novel, The War of the Worlds, was being played over the radio, and how everyone mistook the gripping descriptions of alien motherships for the apocalypse being forecasted and fled the town. We all found that quite amusing. But yesterday left me awe-stricken.

She had this book on her dining room table when we came in, explaining that we may want to look at it. So I picked it up and opened the barely-attached cover. The following greeted me as I breathed in the dusty, musty scent.

The Gentleman’s Magazine, May 1754.

I just stared at her. And she smiled back, replying that it was indeed an original printing.

That had to be the oldest thing I had ever held, save a rock. And I couldn’t believe that she had it. Apparently her brother had given it to her.

As I sit here writing, I realize that this sounds a bit far fetched, but I assure you, everything I wrote about is 100% true. On my honour.

What is the weirdest or most interesting thing you’ve ever touched? I would love to know.

Signing off for now,

Tess

8 thoughts on “I Touched A Real Human Brain

  1. ✍🏻EnniMorgan🐎 May 28, 2017 / 7:12 pm

    Um…I take care to not touch strange things. 😉 ooh, if I touched a human brain, heart or livers, then I would get a heart attack. That sounds gross but cool!

    Like

    • blackiesunshine May 30, 2017 / 5:17 pm

      Yes, brains are no rose garden, that’s for sure…what did you think of brains?

      Like

  2. Sarah Briel May 30, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    Ahhh, that’s all so cool! ❤

    I've had to study biology this year, and recently dissected a worm, crayfish, pike, and frog, and examined all their insides and stuff. It was honestly really gross, though for whatever reason it didn't both me quite as much when I was doing the actual dissect as opposed to a friend I was doing the dissecting with. Maybe the science part of me came out? Anyway … I'm content to never have to touch a brain (or heart … or lung … or gill. Blech) again of any kind. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Join in on the conversation!

